Homemade Chicken Stock

I’ve never really made homemade stock before, but since I had a chicken carcass on my hands after making the Crock Pot Chicken I thought, why not?  How could it be that hard??

So after I removed most of the meat, I threw the bones in a pot with ~12 cups of water plus all of the juices from the crock pot.  I threw in the rest of my fresh herbs, half an onion, a celery rib, a few baby carrots (since I found my large carrots all moldy, juicy and brown in the crisper drawer) and a little salt.

I let this pot of slop simmer for about an hour while we watched Justified on DVR.  After it cooled a little I just poured it through a fine mesh strainer to get all the bits out and put it in the fridge.  This is what I ended up with:

Its pretty good – you can really taste the herbs in there.  Hopefully it will make some good soup for The Boy.

Leave a Reply

